

# APPOINTMENT OF NEW BOARD MEMBER AT THE AGENCY FOR SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND RESEARCH

The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced the appointment of one new Member to the Board of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A\*STAR). The appointment took effect from 1 March 2025.

## Appointment of New Board Member

Mr Jermaine Loy
 Managing Director, Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB)

(The write-up of the new board member and the full list of board members can be found in Annex A and Annex B respectively.)

## MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 3 MARCH 2025

For media queries, please contact:

Carista Wee

Senior Assistant Director, Communications & Engagement Division

Email: carista\_wee@mti.gov.sg



#### **FOR IMMEDIATE REPORTING**

### **Annex A**

## **New A\*STAR Board Member**



Mr Jermaine Loy, 黎佳明 Managing Director Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB)

Mr Jermaine Loy was appointed as Managing Director (MD)-Designate of EDB on 1 January 2025 and took over as MD of EDB on 1 March 2025.

Mr Loy joined the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) in April 2021 and served as the Principal Private Secretary to then-Prime Minister and current Senior Minister Mr Lee Hsien Loong. Prior to joining PMO, Mr Loy was Senior Director of the Strategic Planning Division at the Ministry of National Development from August 2017 to March 2021, where he oversaw planning and policies relating to Singapore's land-use needs.

Mr Loy also held various positions at the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Trade and Industry, and serves on the Board of the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore.





#### **Annex B**

## A\*STAR Board Members (as of 1 March 2025)

#### Chairman

Mr Prof Tan Chorh Chuan
 Permanent Secretary (National Research & Development),
 (Public Sector Science and Technology Policy and Plans Office),
 Prime Minister's Office;
 Chairman, A\*STAR;
 Chairman, MOH Office for Healthcare Transformation (MOHT)

#### **Members**

- Mr Beh Kian Teik
   Chief Executive Officer
   A\*STAR
- Mr Ashok Belani
   Senior Strategic Advisor
   New Energy Schlumberger Limited
- Mr Adrian Chua
   Deputy Secretary (Development)
   Ministry of Finance (MOF)
- Professor Jackie Hunter
   CEO, OlPharma Partners Ltd;
   Chairman of Boards of Biocortext Ltd, Brainomix and Stevenage
   Bioscience Catalyst
- Ms Cindy Lim
   Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure
   Keppel Ltd
- Mr Arunjai Mittal Independent Director
- Mr Sopnendu Mohanty
   Group Chief Executive Officer
   Global Financial Technology Network
- Mr Jermaine Loy
   Managing Director
   Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB)



#### **FOR IMMEDIATE REPORTING**

- Mr Ravinder Singh
   Group Chief Operating Officer, Technology & Innovation;
   President, Defence & Public Security
   ST Engineering
- Ms Yong Hwee Yee Senior Vice President, APAC Operations Olam Food Ingredients
- Mr Soh Gim Teik
   Partner
   Finix Corporate Advisory LLP
- Mr Goh Yew Lin
   Chief Executive Officer, G. K. Goh Holdings Pte Ltd;
   Chairman, Duke-NUS Governing Board
- Professor Andrew Morris
   Director
   Health Data Research UK
- Mr Cheong Chee Hoo
   Chief Executive Officer
   Defence Science Organisation (DSO)
- Mr Lim Tuang Liang
   Government Chief Sustainability Officer;
   Deputy Secretary (Special Duties), Ministry of Sustainability and the
   Environment (MSE)