





## For immediate reporting

## DIGITAL ECONOMY PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT JOINT COMMITTEE ESTABLISHES ACCESSION WORKING GROUP FOR PERU

- 1. The Digital Economy Partnership Agreement (DEPA) Joint Committee has agreed to establish an Accession Working Group (AWG) to formally commence the accession process for Peru, following Peru's application to join the DEPA on 26 May 2023. The AWG will be chaired by the Republic of Korea (ROK) and will comprise government representatives from each DEPA Party. The AWG will be tasked to examine Peru's accession request, conduct discussions on its ability to comply with the standards and commitments of the DEPA, and subsequently submit a report to the Joint Committee on the proposed terms and conditions of Peru's accession.
- 2. Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations Grace Fu said, "Singapore welcomes Peru's application to join the DEPA. As the DEPA expands in size and heft, we look forward to greater opportunities for collaboration between Parties and our businesses. Working with Peru on its DEPA application will further deepen the economic ties between Singapore and Peru and complement our strong partnership and collaboration through the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and the Pacific Alliance-Singapore Free Trade Agreement (PASFTA)."
- 3. The DEPA was signed in June 2020 by Singapore, New Zealand, and Chile. ROK acceded to the DEPA in May 2024, as its first new member to join through accession. As of November 2024, seven economies have applied to join the DEPA. They are China, Canada, Costa Rica, Peru, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), El Salvador and Ukraine.

Jointly issued by the Ministry of Trade and Industry, Ministry of Digital Development and Information, and Infocomm Media Development Authority on 15 November 2024

\* \* \* \*







## For media queries, please contact:

Ang Shao Jun
Assistant Director, Communications and Engagement Division
Ministry of Trade and Industry

Email: ang shao jun@mti.gov.sg

Pauline Tan
Senior Manager, Communications and Engagement Division
Ministry of Digital Development and Information
Email: <a href="mailto:pauline\_tan@mddi.gov.sg">pauline\_tan@mddi.gov.sg</a>

Umadevi Kanagalingam Senior Manager, Communications and Marketing Infocomm Media Development Authority Email: umadevi\_kanagalingam@imda.gov.sg