

## SINGAPORE HOSTS TRANS-PACIFIC PARTNERSHIP (TPP) MINISTERIAL MEETING FROM 7 TO 10 DECEMBER 2013

Singapore is hosting the TPP Ministerial Meeting in Singapore from today, 7 to 10 December 2013, at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. The meeting will be attended by Trade Ministers and officials from the 12 TPP Parties – Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, the United States, Vietnam and Singapore.

- The TPP is envisioned as a high-standard, comprehensive and forward-looking trade agreement that aims to address the challenges of the modern economy. The agreement will cover both new and traditional trade and investment issues, and seeks to create jobs and promote economic development, in a bold step towards establishing a free trade agreement for the Asia Pacific. Besides tackling issues such as trade liberalisation in goods, services, investments, and government procurement, the TPP will include areas such as intellectual property rights, technical barriers to trade, sanitary and phytosanitary standards, competition policy, labour and environment. It will also incorporate new trade facilitation elements, such as the promotion of regulatory coherence, enhancement of cross-border supply chain connectivity and the facilitation of SMEs among TPP members.
- 3 All 12 TPP countries are also members of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC). With the addition of Japan in July 2013, the TPP members account for nearly 40 percent of global GDP and about one-third of all world trade.





Singapore Minister for Trade and Industry, Lim Hng Kiang and USTR Michael Froman at the TPP Ministerial Meeting. Other Ministers and TPP representatives at the table include:

Australia: Chris Decure, TPP Chief Negotiator;

Brunei: Lim Jock Hoi, TPP Chief Negotiator;

Canada: Edward Fast, Minister of International Trade;

Chile: Álvaro Jana, Director General of International Economic Affairs, Vice Minister;

Japan: Yasutoshi Nishimura, Senior Vice-Minister;

Malaysia: Jayasena Jayasiri, Chief Negotiator;

Mexico: Jose Luis Roberto Zapata Barradas, TPP Chief Negotiator;

New Zealand: Tim Groser, Minister of Trade;

Peru: Edgar Vasquez, TPP Chief Negotiator and;

Vietnam: Tran Quoc Khanh, TPP Chief Negotiator



## MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 7 DECEMBER 2013

For media enquiries, please contact:

Ms Joan Khor
Assistant Director, Corporate Communications Division
Ministry of Trade and Industry
Tel: (+65) 6332 7622

E-mail: joan khor@mti.gov.sg

Ms Lauryn Tang Senior Assistant Director, Corporate Communications Division Ministry of Trade and Industry

Tel: (+65) 6332 8446

E-mail: Lauryn tang@mti.gov.sg