

BOARD CHANGES AT ENERGY MARKET AUTHORITY AND SENTOSA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

The Ministry for Trade and Industry (MTI) today announced board appointment changes at Energy Market Authority (EMA) and Sentosa Development Corporation (SDC). These appointments will take effect from 1 April 2013.

ENERGY MARKET AUTHORITY (EMA)

Mr Loh Khum Yean (罗锦贤)

2. Mr Loh Khum Yean will assume the post of Chairman of EMA, taking over from Ms Chan Lai Fung from 1 April 2013.

3. Currently serving as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Manpower, Mr Loh has an extensive career within the Civil Service with various postings across several Ministries. During his stint in the Ministry of Trade & Industry,

he has held the positions of Director, Research & Planning; Chief Executive, SPRING; and Deputy Secretary (Industry), where he oversaw the economic development portfolio, including the energy market sector.

4. With his extensive experience in the Industry sector, Mr Loh would be able to provide strong leadership and direction as Chairman, EMA Board, and lead EMA through its next phase of growth.

Ms Chan Lai Fung (陈丽芬)

5. Ms Chan Lai Fung, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education will be stepping down as Chairman of EMA when her term ends on 31 March 2013.

6. Ms Chan has made significant contributions to many areas of EMA's work. Under her able leadership, the development of Singapore's LNG Terminal remains on track and the terminal is scheduled to commence operations in the

second quarter of 2013. It will be the first open-access, multi-user LNG terminal in Asia, capable of importing and re-exporting LNG from multiple suppliers, further enhancing Singapore's energy security and competitiveness.







7. She also oversaw the enhancement of EMA's regulatory framework to promote market competition and facilitate new generation plantings. These initiatives result in a net increase of 2000MW of new capacity entering the market over the next few years, which will exert downward pressure on wholesale electricity prices. Ms Chan also contributed significantly to the efforts to build up manpower capabilities for the power sector, to ensure that this critical sector can continue to grow sustainably with a strong Singapore workforce.

Other Appointments to EMA Board

8. In addition, MTI has appointed one new member and re-appointed three existing members to the board of the Energy Market Authority (EMA).

New Board Member

• Mr Chang Meng Teng, Chairman, Squire Mech Pte Ltd

Re-appointment of Board Members

- Mr Lee Eng Beng, Managing Partner, Rajah and Tann Limited Liability Partnership
- Mr Lee Kok Choy, Managing Director, Micron Semiconductor Asia Pte Ltd, Fab7 (TECH)
- Prof Euston Quah, Head of Division of Economics, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University

9. Mr Gan Seow Ann, Advisor of Singapore Exchange Ltd and Mr Simon Lam Chun Kai, Supervisory Board Member of Hertel Group Holdings will be retiring as board members of EMA when their terms expire on 31 March 2013.

(A brief write-up of the new members and the full list of EMA board members are attached in Annex A.)



SENTOSA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION (SDC)

10. MTI has re-appointed five existing members to the board of Sentosa Development Corporation (SDC):

- Mr Christopher Fossick, Managing Director, Singapore & SEA, Jones Lang Lasalle
- Ms Kwa Kim Li, Managing Partner, Lee & Lee (Advocates & Solicitors)
- Mr Keith Yu-Jene Magnus, Chairman, UBS Investment Bank
- Mr Chaly Mah, Chairman of Deloitte Singapore and CEO, Deloitte Asia Pacific and Deloitte Southeast Asia
- Mr Shum Jin-Chyi Kevin, Director (Social Programmes), Ministry of Finance

11. Lt-Gen (Ret) Bey Soo Khiang, Vice-Chairman, RGE Pte Ltd will be stepping down upon the completion of his term on 31 March 2013.

(A full list of SDC board members can be found in Annex B.)

In Appreciation

13. Mrs Ow Foong Pheng, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Trade and Industry, "I would like to extend my appreciation to Lai Fung for the guidance she has provided to EMA over the past 6 years. During her term, she has helped to enhance Singapore's energy security, increase our competitiveness and take steps towards full retail contestability. I would also like to welcome Khum Yean as the new Chairman of EMA and look forward to his leadership and direction."

14. The Ministry of Trade and Industry would like to extend its appreciation to all out-going members for their invaluable contributions and welcome the new board members.

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 28 MARCH 2013



<u>Annex A</u>

ENERGY MARKET AUTHORITY

New Board Member

Mr Chang Meng Teng (张明圣) Chairman Squire Mech Pte Ltd

Company (EMC) from 2001 to 2011.

Mr Chang Meng Teng is an engineer by training, having graduated from the University of Strathclyde with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering in 1967. Mr Chang joined Squire Mech Pte Ltd as the Managing Director in October 1979 and assumed the post of Chairman from January 2000.

Prior to joining Squire Mech, Mr Chang held various positions at the Public Utilities Board. He has also served as a Board Director of the Energy Market



PRESS RELEASE



Board Members of Energy Market Authority (as of 1 April 2013)

Chairman

Mr Loh Khum Yean Permanent Secretary Ministry of Manpower

Members

Mr Chee Hong Tat Chief Executive Energy Market Authority

Mr Chang Meng Teng Chairman Squire Mech Pte Ltd

Mr Lee Eng Beng Managing Partner Rajah and Tann Limited Liability Partnership

Mr Lee Kok Choy Managing Director Micron Semiconductor Asia Pte. Ltd. Fab7 (TECH)

Professor Euston Quah Head, Division of Economics School of Humanities and Social Sciences Nanyang Technological University

Mr Quek See Tiat Chairman Building & Construction Authority

Mr Tang Tuck Weng Senior Director National Climate Change Secretariat Prime Minister's Office

Mr John Teo Woon Keng Chief Financial Officer Singapore Pools Pte Ltd



<u>Annex B</u>

Board Members of Sentosa Development Corporation (as of 1 April 2013)

Chairman

Mr Moses Lee Chairman Singapore Totalisator Board

Members

Mr Mike Barclay Chief Executive Officer Sentosa Development Corporation

Ms Jennie Chua Director Ascott Residence Trust Management Limited

Mr Christopher Fossick Managing Director, Singapore & South East Asia Jones Lang LaSalle

Mr Allen Lew CEO, (Group Digital L!fe) Singapore Telecommunications Limited

Ms Kwa Kim Li Managing Partner Lee & Lee (Advocates & Solicitors)

Mr Olivier Lim Group Deputy CEO CapitaLand Limited

Mr Low Teo Ping Group Supervisory Director ATC Group B.V. (Netherlands)

Mr Keith Yu-Jene Magnus Chairman UBS Investment Bank

Mr Chaly Mah Chairman, Deloitte Singapore Chief Executive Officer, Deloitte Asia Pacific and Deloitte Southeast Asia



Mr Ngiam Shih Chun Deputy Secretary (Industry) Ministry of Trade and Industry

Mr Shum Jin-Chyi Kevin Director (Social Programmes) Ministry of Finance

Mr Lionel Yeo Chief Executive Singapore Tourism Board