

# APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN, IE SINGAPORE AND NEW MEMBERS TO IE SINGAPORE AND JTC BOARDS

The Minister for Trade and Industry has appointed Mr Tang Kin Fei as Deputy Chairman of International Enterprise Singapore (IE Singapore) Board. In addition, three new members have been appointed and three other members have been re-appointed to the Board. The JTC Corporation (JTC) Board will see the appointment of two new members and the re-appointment of two members. These appointments take effect from 1 January 2010.

# Mr Tang Kin Fei

2. Mr Tang is the Group President and Chief Executive Officer of SembCorp Industries Limited. He is appointed as the Deputy Chairman of IE Singapore's Board for two years with effect from 1 January 2010. Mr Tang serves on the boards of business councils and trade associations such as the Singapore Business Federation Council and the APEC Business Advisory Council.



### **IE Singapore Board**

- 3. New Appointments
  - Mr Robert Yap Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, YCH Group
  - COL Perry Lim Cheng Yeow Head Joint Plans & Transformation Department, Ministry of Defence
  - Mr Chew Hock Yong 1 Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports

# Re-appointments

- Mr Quek Chin Thean Chief Executive Officer, Global Residual & BP Marine, Integrated Supply & Trading, Eastern Hemisphere, BP Singapore Pte Limited
- Mr Seah Moon Ming Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Technologies Engineering Limited
- Mr Soo Kok Leng Chairman, Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited



- 4. Three members have stepped down from the IE Singapore Board:
  - Mrs Fang Ai Lian Chairman, Great Eastern Holdings Limited
  - BG Chan Chun Sing Chief of Staff–Joint Staff, Singapore Armed Forces, Ministry of Defence
  - Mr Lock Wai Han Deputy Secretary (Industry & The Arts), Ministry of Information, Communications and The Arts

# JTC Board

# 5. New Appointments

- Ms Chen Soon Bin Managing Director, Government of Singapore Investment Corporation
- Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara Managing Partner, Wong Partnership LLP

A brief write-up on these new members is attached in Annex B.

#### Re-appointments

- Mr Jen Kwong Hwa Managing Director, Micron Semiconductor Asia (S) Pte Ltd
- Mrs Cheong Koon Hean Chief Executive Officer, Urban Redevelopment Authority
- 6. Three members have stepped down from the JTC Board:
  - Ms Joanne Cham Hui Fong Director, Industrial Relations, National Trades Union Congress
  - Mr Gary Kee Chief Executive Officer, Hyflux Water Trust Management Pte Ltd
  - Mr Tan Gee Paw Chairman, Public Utilities Board
- 7. The Ministry of Trade and Industry, IE Singapore and JTC welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the outgoing members for their invaluable contributions.
- 8. The Boards of IE Singapore and JTC comprise 11 and 9 members respectively and the current lists of members are at Annex C.

# MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 31 DECEMBER 2009



Annex A

#### New IE Singapore Board Members

# Mr Robert Yap Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, YCH Group

Apart from his chairmanship of the YCH Group, Mr Robert Yap is the Co-Chairman of the ASEAN Business Advisory Council and a Council Member of the Singapore Business Federation. He holds various directorship/membership positions in both the public and private sectors. He was awarded the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year (EOY) Singapore in 2007 and is a Lifetime Member of the World EOY Academy.



# COL Perry Lim Cheng Yeow Head Joint Plans & Transformation Department, Ministry of Defence

In 1991, COL Perry Lim was awarded the SAF (Overseas)/President's Scholarship to pursue his studies at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, where he garnered a Bachelor of Arts (First Class Honours) (Mechanical Engineering). Having spent more than 18 years in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF), COL Lim has held various portfolios in the SAF and Ministry of Defence.(HQ).



# Mr Chew Hock Yong 1 Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports

Mr Chew Hock Yong was appointed 1 Deputy Secretary at the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports on 1 July 2009. He has served more than 18 years in the civil service and his postings included stints at the Ministries of Defence, Home Affairs and Finance. He holds a Master of Science in Business Management, Financial Management, from Stanford University, USA. Mr Chew was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Silver) in 2004.





Annex B

#### New JTC Board Members

# Ms Chen Soon Bin Managing Director, Government of Singapore Investment Corporation

Ms Chen Soon Bin joined the GIC in 1984. She obtained 1<sup>st</sup> class Honours when she graduated from the National University of Singapore (NUS) with a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) in 1982. In addition, she holds a Master of Science (Industrial Engineering) from NUS, a Master of Science in Early Childhood Education and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.



# Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara Managing Partner, Wong Partnership LLP

Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara graduated with a Bachelor of Law from the National University of Singapore in 1988. Subsequently, he attended the University of Cambridge on a Cambridge ODA Scholarship where he obtained a Master of Law. He serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Singapore Management University (SMU), member of the Advisory Board of the SMU School of Law and is a Board Member of various agencies and companies including the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority and the Sentosa Development Corporation.





Annex C

### IE Singapore Board Members (with effect from 1 January 2010)

#### Chairman

Mr Sunny Verghese Group Managing Director and CEO Olam International Limited

# **Deputy Chairman**

Mr Tang Kin Fei Group President and CEO SembCorp Industries Limited

#### Members

Dr Beh Swan Jin Managing Director Economic Development Board

Mr Chew Hock Yong
1 Deputy Secretary
Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports

Mr Bill Foo Say Mui Chief Executive Officer Australia & New Zealand Banking Group Limited

COL Perry Lim Cheng Yeow Head Joint Plans & Transformation Department Ministry of Defence

Mr Quek Chin Thean Chief Executive Officer Global Residual & BP Marine Integrated Supply & Trading Eastern Hemisphere BP Singapore Pte Limited

Mr Seah Moon Ming Deputy Chief Executive Officer Singapore Technologies Engineering Limited

Mr Soo Kok Leng Chairman Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited

Mr Robert Yap Chairman and CEO YCH Group

Mr Chong Lit Cheong Chief Executive Officer IE Singapore



# JTC Board Members (with effect from 1 January 2010)

#### Chairman

Mr Cedric Foo Group Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer Neptune Orient Lines Ltd

#### **Members**

Ms Chen Soon Bin Managing Director Government of Singapore Investment Corporation

Mrs Cheong Koon Hean Chief Executive Officer Urban Redevelopment Authority

Mr Jen Kwong Hwa Managing Director Micron Semiconductor Asia (S) Pte Ltd

Dr Ernest Kan Partner Deloitte & Touche, Singapore

Mr Manohar Khiatani Chief Executive Officer JTC Corporation

Lieutenant-General Desmond Kuek Chief of Defence Force Ministry of Defence

Mrs Ong Choon Fah Executive Director and Head, Consulting & Research DTZ Debenham Tie Leung (SEA) Pte Ltd

Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara Managing Partner Wong Partnership LLP