# BOARD CHANGES AT COMPETITION COMMISSION OF SINGAPORE, IE SINGAPORE AND AGENCY FOR SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND RESEARCH

The Minister for Trade and Industry has appointed three new members to the Board of the Competition Commission of Singapore (CCS) and four new members to the Board of International Enterprise Singapore (IE Singapore). In addition, five members of the CCS Board and five members of the IE Singapore Board have been re-appointed. At the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A\*STAR), Deputy Chairman Prof Tan Chorh Chuan, and two Board members have been re-appointed. All appointments are with effect from 1 January 2008, except for Prof Tan, whose re-appointment is with effect from 1 February 2008.

# **Competition Commission of Singapore**

## New Appointments

- Dr Andrew Khoo Cheng Hoe Executive Director (Capital Markets),
   Monetary Authority of Singapore
- Mrs Tan Ching Yee Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Mr Teo Eng Cheong Mr Teo will be appointed as Chief Executive, CCS, with effect from 1 January 2008

### Re-appointments

- **Mr Lam Chuan Leong** Ambassador-at-Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Chairman, CCS
- Mr Bobby Chin Chairman, Singapore Totalisator Board
- Prof Phang Sock Yong School of Economics, Singapore Management University
- Prof Tan Cheng Han Dean, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
- Mr Lionel Yee Woon Chin Senior State Counsel, Attorney-General's Chambers

# **IE Singapore**

## **New Appointments**

- Mr Aihara Gempachiro Managing Director and CEO, Mitsui & Co. (Asia Pacific) Pte. Ltd
- Mr Quek Chin Thean Chief Operating Officer, BP's Integrated Supply and Trading Business (Eastern Hemisphere Region)
- Mr Seah Moon Ming President, International Business, and Deputy CEO, ST Engineering Ltd
- Mr Soo Kok Leng Chairman, Mount Faber Leisure Group Singapore Pte Ltd and Chairman, ST Electronics Ltd

## Re-appointments

- **BG Chan Chun Sing** Commander, HQ 9<sup>th</sup> Division/Infantry, Singapore Armed Forces, Ministry of Defence
- Mr Chong Lit Cheong Chief Executive, IE Singapore
- Mrs Fang Ai Lian Chairman, Ernst & Young
- Mr Lock Wai Han Director, Criminal Investigation Department, Singapore Police Force, Ministry of Home Affairs
- Mr Tang Kin Fei Group President and CEO, SembCorp Industries Ltd

# Agency for Science, Technology and Research

#### Re-appointments

- Prof Tan Chorh Chuan Senior Deputy President, Office of Provost, National University of Singapore
- Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director, Economic Development Board
- Lord Ronald Oxburgh Chairman, House of Lords Select Committee on Science & Technology

- 2. One Board member has stepped down from the CCS Board:
  - Mr Edward Robinson Executive Director, Economic Policy Department, Monetary Policy Division, Monetary Authority of Singapore
- 3. Four members have stepped down from the IE Singapore Board:
  - Mr Ron Sim CEO, OSIM International Ltd
  - Mr Tam Yam Pin Chairman (Non-Executive), Power Seraya
  - Mr Tay Eng Hoe Group CEO, ECS Holdings Limited
  - Mr V. Thyagarajan Senior Vice President & Regional Director, Asia Pacific, GlaxoSmithKline
- 4. The Ministry of Trade and Industry, CCS and IE Singapore welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the outgoing members for their invaluable contributions.
- 5. CCS' Board comprises eight members, IE Singapore's Board comprises 12 members and A\*STAR's Board has 20 members. The current lists for the Boards may be found at Annex.

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 31 December 2007

# **Competition Commission of Singapore's Board Members**

#### Chairman

Mr Lam Chuan Leong Ambassador-at-Large Ministry of Foreign Affairs

## **Members**

Mr Bobby Chin Yoke Choong Chairman, Singapore Totalisator Board

Dr Andrew Khoo Cheng Hoe Executive Director (Capital Markets) Monetary Authority of Singapore

Prof Phang Sock Yong Professor, School Of Economics Singapore Management University

Prof Tan Cheng Han Dean, Faculty of Law National University of Singapore

Mrs Tan Ching Yee Permanent Secretary Ministry of Education

Mr Teo Eng Cheong
Director-General
Singapore Customs
Ministry of Finance
(and Chief Executive, CCS, with effect from 1 January 2008)

Mr Lionel Yee Woon Chin Senior State Counsel Attorney-General's Chambers

## **International Enterprise Singapore's Board Members**

#### Chairman

Ms Euleen Goh

# **Deputy Chairman**

Mr Sunny Verghese Group Managing Director and CEO Olam International Ltd

## **Members**

Dr Beh Swan Jin Assistant Managing Director (Planning and Policy) Economic Development Board and Executive Director, Biomedical Research Council Agency for Science, Technology and Research

BG Chan Chun Sing Commander, HQ 9<sup>th</sup> Division/ Infantry Singapore Armed Forces Ministry of Defence

Mr Chong Lit Cheong Chief Executive Officer IE Singapore

Mrs Fang Ai Lian Chairman Ernst & Young

Mr Aihara Gempachiro Managing Director and CEO Mitsui & Co. (Asia Pacific) Pte. Ltd

Mr Lock Wai Han Director, Criminal Investigation Department Singapore Police Force Ministry of Home Affairs

Mr Quek Chin Thean Chief Operating Officer BP Singapore BP's Integrated Supply and Trading Business, Eastern Hemisphere Mr Seah Moon Ming President, International Business and Deputy CEO, ST Engineering Ltd

Mr Soo Kok Leng Chairman, Mount Faber Leisure Group Singapore Pte Ltd and Chairman, ST Electronics Ltd

Mr Tang Kin Fei Group President and CEO SembCorp Industries Ltd

# Agency for Science, Technology and Research's Board Members

## Chairman

Mr Lim Chuan Poh

# **Deputy Chairman**

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan Deputy President, Office of Provost National University of Singapore

## Members

Dr Sydney Brenner Distinguished Professor The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Ms Chang Hwee Nee Deputy Secretary (Policy) Ministry of Education

Dr Rick Harwig Chief Technology Officer Royal Philips Electronics NV

Professor Satkunanantham Kandiah Director of Medical Services Ministry of Health

Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director Economic Development Board

Professor Kiyoshi Kurokawa Special Advisor to the Cabinet: Science, Technology and Innovation Japan

Sir Prof David Lane Chairman Biomedical Research Council and Executive Director Institute of Molecular & Cell Biology Ms Yena Lim Managing Director Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Professor Alex Markham Professor of Medicine University of Leeds

Mr Ng Wai Choong Deputy Secretary (Policy) Ministry of Finance

Lord Ronald Oxburgh Chairman House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology

Mr Quek Tong Boon Deputy Secretary (Technology and Transformation) Ministry of Defence

Dr Moncef Slaoui Chairman, Research & Development GlaxoSmithKline

Dr Darlene Solomon Vice President and Director Agilent Technologies

Professor Su Guaning
President
Nanyang Technological University

Ms Padmasree Warrior Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Motorola

Mr Tadataka Yamada President Global Health Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Professor Charles Zukoski Vice Chancellor of Research University of Illinois @ Urbana-Champaign