Media Release

APPOINTMENT OF FIVE NEW BOARD MEMBERS FOR A*STAR

The Minister for Trade and Industry has appointed five new Board members to the Board of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR). Their appointments are with effect from 1 February 2007:

- **Prof Alex Markham** Professor of Medicine, University of Leeds
- Prof Kiyoshi Kurokawa Special Advisor to the Cabinet : Science, Technology and Innovation, Japan
- Dr Rick Harwig Chief Technology Officer, Royal Philips Electronics NV
- Ms Padmasree Warrior Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Motorola

A brief write-up on these new members is attached in Annex A

- 2. In addition to these new appointments, Ms Yena Lim has been appointed to the A*STAR Board, with effect from 4 January 2007, in her capacity as Managing Director, A*STAR, replacing Mr Boon Swan Foo.
- 3. Five Board members stepped down from the A*STAR Board, with effect from 31 January 2007 :
 - **Prof Shih Choon Fong** President, National University of Singapore
 - Mr Loh Khum Yean Chief Executive, SPRING (Standards, Productivity and Innovation Board)
 - Dr Jeffrey M Leiden Partner, Clarus Ventures, USA
 - **Dr Akihiro Yamaguchi** Senior Managing Director, R&D Center and Intellectual Property Division, Mitsui Chemicals Inc., Japan
 - Professor Hiroyuki Yoshikawa President, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science & Technology, Japan

- 4. The Ministry of Trade and Industry and A*STAR welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the out-going Board members for their invaluable contributions to A*STAR.
- 5. A*STAR's Board comprises 19 members and the current list may be found at Annex B.

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 1 February 2007

For media enquiries, please contact:

Madeline Pereira Corporate Communications Ministry of Trade and Industry

Tel: +65 6332 7223

E-mail: madeline_pereira@mti.gov.sg

Janet Low Corporate Communications Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Tel: + 65 826 6337

Email: janet_low@a-star.edu.sg

PROF ALEX MARKHAM
Professor of Medicine, University of Leeds



Prof Alex Markham – Formerly the Chief Executive of Cancer Research UK, he has over 20 years of experience in pharmaceuticals and diagnostic industries, and has interest in research training of clinical academics.

PROF KIYOSHI KUROKAWA
Special Advisor to the Cabinet: Science, Technology and Innovation



Prof Kiyoshi Kurokawa – Formerly the President of Japan's Science Council, he has been appointed the Special Advisor to the Cabinet: Science, Technology and Innovation on 3 Oct 2006. He has been made Council Chairperson of the "Innovation 25 Strategy Council" under the Minister of State for Innovation, to forecast society's needs in 2025, and suggest what research should be conducted in technology, medicine, IT and the environment to meet those needs.

DR RICK HARWIG Chief Technology Officer, Royal Philips Electronics NV



Dr Rick Harwig – He was appointed Chief Technology Officer of Philips and a member of the Group Management Committee in April 2006. He has extensive experience in Philips' Research laboratories, Semiconductors and Consumer Electronics.

MS PADMASREE WARRIOR Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Motorola



Ms Padmasree Warrior – She is the executive vice president and chief technology officer for Motorola where she directs the company's R&D efforts and has operational responsibility for the global software group and emerging early-stage businesses.

Annex B

Agency for Science, Technology and Research's Board Members

Chairman

Mr Philip Yeo Liat Kok (till 31 March 2007)

Deputy Chairmen

Mr Lim Chuan Poh (to assume A*STAR chairmanship on 1 April 2007) Permanent Secretary Ministry of Education

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan Provost and Deputy President National University of Singapore

Members

Dr Sydney Brenner Distinguished Professor The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Ms Chang Hwee Nee
Deputy Secretary (Policy & Services)
Ministry of Education

Dr Rick Harwig Chief Technology Officer Royal Philips Electronics NV

Professor Satkunanantham Kandiah Director of Medical Service Ministry of Health

Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director Economic Development Board

Professor Kiyoshi Kurokawa Special Advisor to the Cabinet: Science, Technology and Innovation

Ms Yena Lim Managing Director Agency for Science, Technology and Research Professor Alex Markham Professor of Medicine University of Leeds

Mr Ravi Menon Deputy Secretary (Policy) Ministry of Finance

Lord Ronald Oxburgh Chairman House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology

Mr Quek Tong Boon Deputy Secretary (Technology and Transformation) Ministry of Defence

Dr Darlene Solomon Vice President and Director Agilent Technologies

Professor Su Guaning President Nanyang Technological University

Ms Padmasree Warrior Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Motorola

Mr Tadataka Yamada President Global Health Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Professor Charles Zukoski Vice Chancellor of Research University of Illinois @ Urbana-Champaign