Media Release

FOUR NEW EDB BOARD MEMBERS APPOINTED

The Minister for Trade and Industry has appointed four new Board members to the Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB). Their appointments are with effect from 1 February 2007:

- Mr Jonathan Asherson Regional Director, Rolls-Royce Singapore
- Dr Patrick A J Gyselinck Vice President, Global Supply Chain, Asia Region, Schering-Plough Ltd
- Mr Shunsuke Ohtsu Chief Executive for Asia, Hitachi Ltd and Chairman, Hitachi Asia Ltd
- Professor Gregory Paul Whittred President, University of New South Wales (UNSW) Asia

A brief write-up on these new members is attached in Annex A.

- 2. Four Board members have stepped down from the EDB Board :
 - Mr Motonobu Takemoto President, Toyota Motor Asia Pacific
 - Mr Eduardo Rosini Regional Vice President, Asia Pacific, Microsoft Operations
 - **Mr Robert Alan Myers** Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Cardinal Health Singapore
 - Mr Teo Ming Kian Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- 3. The Ministry of Trade and Industry and EDB welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the four out-going Board members for their invaluable contributions to EDB.
- 4. EDB's Board comprises 12 members and the current list may be found in Annex B.

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY SINGAPORE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BOARD 31 January 2007

For media enquiries, please contact:

Madeline Pereira Corporate Communications Ministry of Trade and Industry

Tel: +65 6332 7223

E-mail: madeline_pereira@mti.gov.sg

Neha Dass Senior Officer, Communications Singapore Economic Development Board Tel: +65 6832-6134

E-mail: neha_dass@edb.gov.sg

MR JONATHAN ASHERSON Regional Director, Rolls-Royce Singapore



Mr Asherson has been serving as Regional Director, Rolls-Royce Singapore since 1999. Prior to that, he was the Regional Executive of Rolls-Royce Malaysia since 1995. Mr Asherson began his career with Siemens, Germany in 1981 and was also posted at Siemens, USA and China. He graduated from Kingston University, United Kingdom with a distinction in mechanical engineering.

DR PATRICK A J GYSELINCK Vice President, Global Supply Chain, Asia Region, Schering-Plough Ltd



Dr Gyselinck was appointed Vice President of Global Supply Chain, Asia Region of Schering-Plough Ltd. in 2004. Before that, he had served as the Managing Director of Schering-Plough Ltd. He also worked in various international locations, such as Belgium, New Jersey (USA), Puerto Rico and Switzerland. He pursued a doctorate in pharmaceutical technology from University Gent, Belgium.

MR SHUNSUKE OHTSU Chief Executive for Asia, Hitachi Ltd and Chairman, Hitachi Asia Ltd



Mr Ohtsu was appointed the Chief Executive for Asia, Hitachi Ltd and Chairman, Hitachi Asia Ltd in August 2006. He started his career with Hitachi Europe Ltd and assumed the role of General Manager, International Business Planning & Development Group, Hitachi Ltd in 2000. Mr Ohtsu graduated with a degree in economics from Keio University in 1970. He also has an advanced management programme degree from Harvard Business School.

PROFESSOR GREGORY PAUL WHITTRED
President, University of New South Wales (UNSW) Asia



Professor Whittred assumed the responsibility as the President of UNSW Asia in November 2005. Prior to this, he was Dean of the Faculty of Commerce & Economics, UNSW. He graduated with a doctorate degree in accounting and finance from UNSW in 1986. He is a Fellow of both the Institute of Chartered Accountants and Certified Practicing Accountant Australia.

Singapore Economic Development Board's Board Members

Chairman

Mr Lim Siong Guan Chairman Economic Development Board

Members

Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director Economic Development Board

Dr Ulrich Ackermann President & CEO Schott Asia

Mr Jonathan Asherson Regional Director Rolls-Royce Singapore

Mr Goh Chye Boon Senior Director (Energy Planning) Ministry of Trade and Industry

Dr Patrick A J Gyselinck Vice President, Global Supply Chain, Asia Region Schering-Plough Ltd

Mdm Halimah Yacob Assistant Secretary General National Trades Union Congress

Ms Lynne M Lachenmyer Asia Pacific Manufacturing Director ExxonMobil Chemical Asia Pacific

Mr Shunsuke Ohtsu Chief Executive for Asia, Hitachi Ltd and Chairman, Hitachi Asia Ltd

Mr David J Ross Regional Vice President, South Pacific Federal Express Mr Bernard Toh Bee Yong Executive Chairman UniSteel Technology Ltd

Professor Gregory Paul Whittred President University of New South Wales (UNSW) Asia